Thursday, October 21, 2010

DM dominates the Hawgsmoke 2010 competition

by Airman Saphfire D. Cook
355th Fighter Wing Public Affairs

10/20/2010 - DAVIS-MONTHAN AIR FORCE BASE, Ariz. -- Airmen from DM participated in the Hawgsmoke 2010 competition, held Oct. 13 to Oct. 16 in Boise, Idaho.

The Hawgsmoke games are a biennial A-10 Thunderbolt II bombing, missile, and tactile gunnery competition. The final standings were as follows:

1st Place Team Bombing - 358th Fighter Squadron
1st Place CRUD - 358th FS
1st Place Team Maverick - 354th FS
1st Place High Altitude Dive Bomb - Capt. Ugh Pruitt, 358th FS
2nd Place Overall Team - 354th FS
3rd Place Pilot Overall - Capt. Chip Young, 354th FS
2nd Place Team Strafe - 354th FS
2nd Place Team Bombing - 354th FS
2nd Place Strafe - Maj. Custer Kelly, 45th Fighter Squadron
2nd Place CRUD - 354th Fighter Squadron
2nd Place Team Maverick - 357th Fighter Squadron
2nd Place Dive Bomb - Capt. Bart Harris, 354th FS
3rd Place HADB - Maj. Custer Kelly, 45th FS

"The competition makes us better," said Capt. Jeremiah Parvin, 357th FS pilot and first time Hawgsmoke participant. Hawgsmoke is a chance for A-10 guys to get together to solve proplems and re-hone our skills."

DM's overwhelming success in this year's competition depended on both highly-skilled flight crews and expert maintainers.

"Maintenance was a huge part of this," said Capt. Parvin. "They kept the jets healthy during the competition, so we knew that when we went out to our jets they would work."

Hawgsmoke 2010 was hosted by the Idaho Air National Guard's 190th Fighter Squadron, the winners of the 2008 games.

The maintenance crews from the various squadrons helped to keep the planes up and running throughout the competition.

Hawgsmoke 2011 is scheduled to be held at DM.


No comments:

Post a Comment